El capitolio (national capitol building)
History of El capitolio (national capitol building) at Cuba-havana
This grandiose building was constructed between 1926 and 1929 under the leadership of General Machado and under the direction of the architect Eugenio Raynieri Piedra. He used the Capitol in Washington and the Pantheon in Paris as sources of inspiration to design the building. Many Cuban and foreign artist participated in the construction such as the Italian Angelo Zanini who sculpted the great statues (6.5 m) that flank the stairs. He also carved the bas-reliefs adorning the bronze doors and the huge statue of the Republic located in the hall and covered with gold. The surrounding gardens were created by the French landscaper Nicolas Forestier. The interior is sumptuous and include the Hall of Lost Steps on either sides of the statue, which has inlays of precious marbles and golden chandeliers. The Hall leads to the Chamber of Deputies, on one side, and to the Parliament Chamber, on the other side. The magnificent dome has a height of 92 m. The Cuban Congress was housed in the building from 1929 to 1959, then, it became the seat of the Cuban Academy of Sciences. The building is currently being restored so that it can be used once again as the home of Cuba’s National Assembly.
Editorial content Do Tours ©