Your travel guide for Saint-etienne

Top 10 places in Saint-etienne

Our app features the history of 120 monuments and great sites including places to discover Saint-etienne. Here is a selection of the top 10 monuments of the city, with an extract of the texts available in the application and written by our teams of specialists. For full content, download our Android and iPhone Guide and start creating your travel journal for your stay at Saint-etienne

Visit The Château de Rochetaillée

The Château de Rochetaillée

This building, mentioned since 1173, defended access to Forez. Besieged and devastated during the wars of religion, it is restored at the end of the 16th century and dismantled in 1812. This feudal castle, anchored on a quartz block and in the shape of a polygon, is flanked by four towers of which... Read more

Visit The church of Valbenoîte

The church of Valbenoîte

The first stone of the building was laid in the thirteenth century by Count Guy IV Forez. This Cistercian abbey has since become the Notre-Dame de Valbenoîte school group. A Romanesque style inside, its portal and facade, remodeled in the nineteenth century, yet are antique style. Read more

Visit The Grand'Eglise Saint-Etienne Saint Laurent Church

The Grand'Eglise Saint-Etienne Saint Laurent Church

Succeeding a primitive church, the Grand'Eglise was rebuilt in the 15th century in coal sandstone in a typical Gothic style of Forez. Mutilated during the Wars of Religion and during the Revolution, it is the oldest church in the historic city. Read more

Visit The Villeneuve Hotel

The Villeneuve Hotel

This seventeenth-century town house is a bridge between the medieval and 19th-century town. The central body of the building is composed of three levels and stables in the south courtyard. Inside are ceilings "caisson fern" architectural particularity found in the Forez region. Read more

Visit The Chapel of Charity

The Chapel of Charity

Built in coal sandstone in 1741, the chapel is an element of the "House of Charity" decided by order of Louis XIV. The institution, founded in Saint-Etienne by the priest Guy Colombet in 1695, welcomed the poor. The portal of the chapel is surmounted by a niche of Charity of the... Read more

Visit The church of Saint-Victor-sur-Loire

The church of Saint-Victor-sur-Loire

Probably built around 1071 on the site of an old chapel, this Romanesque church is transformed in the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries and restored in 1969. The interior houses a Baroque wooden altar, statues of the nineteenth century, modern stained glass windows and a organ of style XVIIth... Read more

Visit The house called "The 5-legged sheep"

The house called "The 5-legged sheep"

This 16th century house is located at the time inside the fortified town. Its wooden facade, rebuilt in the twentieth century, reflects this architecture quite common in the sixteenth century. Its name comes from an old café located on the ground floor. Read more

Visit The building called "The Great Circle"

The building called "The Great Circle"

Built in 1840, the building symbolizes the economic success of the Colcombet ribbon family. The first floor was occupied for a long time by the "Grand Cercle", a bourgeois circle where the Etienne elite met. Read more

Visit The Bandstand

The Bandstand

The current kiosk, built in 1914, replaces the previous one from 1870 and became too small for the Municipal Harmony. Crowned with a dome carried by ten iron posts connected to the base by a railing wrought iron, it has on each of the ten faces the names of famous musicians. Read more

Visit The House without stairs (56)

The House without stairs (56)

Composed of 36 dwellings spread over six floors, the building built in 1933 by Auguste Bossu has no elevator or staircase but a helical ramp. The concrete cap, pierced with glass pavers, brings a zenith lighting to the inner courtyard, Art Deco style. Read more

App features and audioguide Saint-etienne

Prepare your trip to Saint-etienne and discover all its treasures and secrets. Monuments, Restaurants, Hotels, Activities, Wellness, Museums, become your own guide, save time by creating your own travel diary, and share your tips with friends.

Activate the instant discovery and become a free explorer in the small paved streets of Saint-etienne, you will be alerted of a nearby place during your walk.

Be sure to have your guide at all times even if low coverage areas and avoid abroad DATA overcosts with the « offline map and guide» feature.

Let yourself be guided in Saint-etienne through original themed itineraries.

Enrich your trip to Saint-etienne with a quest : Capture the places and collect items, challenge your curiosity with quizzes, treasure hunt while you are living in Saint-etienne

Votre guide de voyage pour Saint-etienne

Top 10 des lieux à Saint-etienne

Notre application propose l'histoire de 120 monuments et sites remarquables comprenant les lieux incontournables pour découvrir Saint-etienne. Voici une sélection du top 10 des monuments de la ville, avec un extrait des textes disponibles dans l’application et rédigés par nos équipes de spécialistes. Pour l’intégralité du contenu, téléchargez notre guide Android et iPhone et commencez à créer vos propres circuits touristiques pour votre séjour à Saint-etienne

Visiter Le Château de Rochetaillée

Le Château de Rochetaillée

Cet édifice, mentionné dès 1173, défendait l'accès au Forez. Assiégé et dévasté durant les guerres de Religion, il est restauré à la fin du XVIe siècle puis démantelé en 1812. Ce château féodal, ancré sur un bloc de quartz et en forme de polygone, est flanqué à l'origine de quatre tours dont trois... En savoir plus

Visiter L'église de Valbenoîte

L'église de Valbenoîte

La première pierre de l'édifice est posée au XIIIe siècle par le comte Guy IV du Forez. Cette abbaye cistercienne est devenue depuis le groupe scolaire Notre-Dame de Valbenoîte. D'un style roman à l'intérieur, son portail et sa façade, remaniés au XIXe siècle, sont pourtant de style antique. En savoir plus

Visiter La Grand'Eglise ou église Saint-Étienne Saint Laurent

La Grand'Eglise ou église Saint-Étienne Saint Laurent

Succédant à une église primitive, la Grand'Eglise est reconstruite au XVe siècle en grès houiller dans un style gothique typique du Forez. Mutilée lors des guerres de Religion et pendant la Révolution, il s'agit de l'église la plus ancienne de la ville historique. En savoir plus

Visiter L'Hôtel de Villeneuve

L'Hôtel de Villeneuve

Cet hôtel particulier, construit au XVIIe siècle, constitue, par sa situation, un pont entre la ville médiévale et celle du XIXe siècle. Le corps central du bâtiment est composé de trois niveaux et d'écuries dans la cour sud. A l'intérieur se trouvent des plafonds « à caisson fougère »,... En savoir plus

Visiter La chapelle de la Charité

La chapelle de la Charité

Construite en grès houiller en 1741, la chapelle est un élément de la « Maison de Charité » décidée sur ordonnance de Louis XIV. L'institution, fondée à Saint-Etienne par le curé Guy Colombet dès 1695, accueillait les miséreux. Le portail de la chapelle est surmonté d'une niche de la Charité ... En savoir plus

Visiter L'église de Saint-Victor-sur-Loire

L'église de Saint-Victor-sur-Loire

Probablement construite vers 1071 sur l'emplacement d'une ancienne chapelle, cette église romane est transformée aux XVIe et XIXe siècles puis restaurée en 1969. L'intérieur abrite un autel baroque en bois, des statues du XIXe siècle, des vitraux modernes et un orgue de style XVIIe siècle, réalisé... En savoir plus

Visiter La maison dite «  Le Mouton à 5 pattes »

La maison dite «  Le Mouton à 5 pattes »

Cette maison du XVIe siècle est située à l'époque à l'intérieur du bourg fortifié. Sa façade à pan de bois, reconstruite au XXe siècle, témoigne de cette architecture assez fréquente au XVIe siècle. Son nom provient d'un ancien café situé au rez-de chaussée. En savoir plus

Visiter L’immeuble dit « Le Grand Cercle »

L’immeuble dit « Le Grand Cercle »

Construit en 1840, l'immeuble symbolise la réussite économique de la famille des rubaniers Colcombet. Le premier étage fut longtemps occupé par le « Grand Cercle », cercle bourgeois où se réunissait l'élite stéphanoise. En savoir plus

Visiter Le Kiosque à musique

Le Kiosque à musique

Le kiosque actuel, construit en 1914, vient remplacer le précédent datant de 1870 et devenu trop exigu pour l'Harmonie municipale. Couronné d'un dôme porté par dix poteaux de fonte reliés à la base par un garde-corps en fer forgé, il comporte sur chacune des dix faces les noms de célèbres musiciens. En savoir plus

Visiter La Maison sans escalier (56)

La Maison sans escalier (56)

Composé de 36 logements répartis sur six étages, l'édifice construit en 1933 par Auguste Bossu ne comporte ni ascenseur ni escalier mais une rampe hélicoïdale. La calotte de béton, percée de pavés de verre, apporte un éclairage zénithal à la cour intérieure, de style Art déco. En savoir plus

Fonctionnalités de l'application et audioguide Saint-etienne

Préparez votre voyage pour Saint-etienne et découvrez tous ses secrets. Monuments, Musées, devenez votre propre guide, gagnez du temps en créant votre propre carnet de voyage, et partagez vos création entre amis.

Activez la découverte instantanée et devenez un explorateur libre dans les petites rues pavées de Saint-etienne, vous serez alerté d'un lieu à proximité lors de votre ballade.

Soyez sûr de disposer de votre guide en toutes circonstances comme des zones non couvertes par le réseau, et faites des économies de coût de DATA à l'étranger avec la fonction « carte et guide hors ligne ».

Laissez-vous guider dans Saint-etienne au travers de circuits thématisés originaux.

Votre voyage à Saint-etienne devient une quête: Capturez les objets et collectionnez-les, jouez à Géo-collecte, chasse aux trésors pendant votre séjour à Saint-etienne